The Tie.

She showed up in a tie. 
Classic.
Formal.
Small diamond shapes of blue.
Little flecks of gold, little flecks of red.
The gold matches her eyes.
She showed up in a tie for me.
White shirt.
Collar slightly askew.
Rakishly so.
Confidence sizzling and popping,
like electricity.
I felt her get out of the car.
I felt her walk toward me.
She scooped me into her arms,
with a gentle broad sweep,
that made my knees weak.
She showed up in a tie.
For me.
And, later, she showed me
what else ties are good for.
She showed up in a tie.
For us.
Leave a Reply

