Jealousy…

The yellow daffodils sit on my desk,

reminders of spring in this new year.

They gaze at me

and I gaze back,

completely enthralled with their beauty.

There are pale, pale yellow ones

but they just can’t compare.

There are giant white ones with

red-tinged centers of amber.

There are huge dark yellow ones

with centers of still darker yellow.

And they smile at me,

nodding their heads,

accepting the accolades about their beauty…

Well, until they realize…

it’s your photograph I’m looking at,

and not them at all.

(And obviously this photograph is of my kitchen flowers but I rather liked all the colors in it best.)

Image

Leave a Reply

