Almost Home…

“Man, I just wish you’d left me alone; I was almost home.”These words from a Craig Morgan song ring so true to me.  Sometimes the night brings dreams that are so real, I can almost see my grandmother’s weathered face, almost touch my son’s small hand, almost hear my Aunt Ernestine telling a joke and Uncle Cliff laughing with his face bright red from working outside on the golf course.  Why do the happiest years involve people who have been dead for decades? 

When I was younger, I often wondered why most old people were so grumpy, sparing of smiles; I know now.  Because they’re alone.  The laughter in their lives is harder to come by.  Someone said that youth is wasted on the young.  Yep.  That’s true.  We never fully appreciate what we have until we don’t have it anymore.

Where’s a damn crystal ball when you really need one?

Leave a Reply

