Still

Still.

…And I looked up and there you were.  And I wondered if you knew.

…And I wondered if you could hear my mind racing from across the room, so loud were my thoughts, like the hoof-beats of a thousand frightened mustangs.

…And I wondered if you could see my pulse quicken beneath my skin, so erratic was my heart beating in my chest.

…And I wondered if you could taste my emotions, so strong they were, like the copper tartness a penny leaves when you’ve held it in your hand for too long.

…And I wondered if you could smell my fear, crowding up in my throat, struggling for a breath of you.

…And I wondered if you could feel my longing, for surely it must be visible, dripping maddeningly, dizzyingly, across my face like a water-soaked canvas caught in a sudden downpour.

…And I wondered if you knew how drawn to you I feel, much like the proverbial moth to the eternal open flame at twilight.

And then you turned around,

the moment passed,

and still….

I wondered if you knew.

6 thoughts on “Still

  1. I thoroughly enjoy reading your posts, thank you. I reblogged earlier hope you don’t mind. This piece stuck out a lot.

Leave a Reply

