Day 5 of my 21 days of gratitude:

Day 5 of my 21 days of gratitude:
I am grateful that I have a decent house to live in.
I am grateful that I am free of disease.
I am grateful that I have an education.

These sound so lame to me.  I guess some days I’m just so pissed off at the world.  I want these gratitudes to mean something and today just feels like I couldn’t think outside the box.  Let me try again.

I’m grateful that I didn’t die when I was a child.  I’m grateful that I didn’t starve to death when I wasn’t fed.  I’m grateful I wasn’t killed when I was homeless and sleeping in parked cars in driveways when I was a teenager.  I’m glad that I didn’t die when the car I was in flipped upside down.  I’m glad I didn’t die when I let go of the side of the pool and became unconscious in the water.  I’m glad that I didn’t die when I prayed every night to not wake up in the mornings. 

I love my daughter and my grandsons.  I’m grateful to be part of their lives.

I’m grateful for each piece of human contact that you and I sustain, each comment, each piece of you that you share with me.

8 thoughts on “Day 5 of my 21 days of gratitude:

  1. Wow. I’m lost for words. I hope life is at least being gentle with you. Hug from England. I know I said I’d start this today. I’m sorry I haven’t I’m in a tough place right now.I promise I’ll try to do at least one of these in the coming days. I hope you’ve had a lovely weekend, lady.

    • I’ve had a quiet weekend; I did not work for the first time in a long time, which is always odd for me. I hope your tough times become better times. Life is being gentle at the moment; I think sometimes my expectations are too high, and at other times they aren’t high enough. Maybe that’s normal? I’m not sure. I hope your weekend has been a good one as well. Take care.

      • I hope you enjoyed your quiet weekend. I’m glad life is being gentle; I hope always. Expectations are hard to change. I often think if they’re low then we settle for less. Too high isn’t necessarily bad either because we can find ourselves fortunate. Not having any apart from the worst is just sad. My weekend was eventful. I’m still in a lot of pain and frustrated that I’ve been off work for two weeks now since breaking my coccyx. Take care and have a great week.

  2. Cracked me up laughing when I started reading this, but then, by the end, well, what a powerful little post…you take care too.

Leave a Reply

