We never went to Wichita…

“We’ll always have Wichita”, I wanted to say

and be gracious and loving, in my usual way.

The words got caught, just about here

and rolled down my face, in the form of tears.

“We’ll always have Wichita”, I wanted to say

and smile, laugh, and wish her well on her way.

The words got caught, just about here

and filled up my eyes with something like fear.

“We’ll always have Wichita”, I wanted to say

“Remember when we met, that month before May?”

The words got caught, just about here.

It was no longer something she wanted to hear.

“We’ll always have Wichita”, I wanted to say

those nights full of passion, in every which way

The words got caught, just about here

We weren’t meant to be, that much is clear.

Hey, we’ll always have Wichita…

2 thoughts on “We never went to Wichita…

Leave a Reply

