Pass me the whine and/or a little consideration.

Okay, so the girlfriend cut me this morning.  No, not literally, merely figuratively.  Merely I say, as if it didn’t count.  It counts actually.

Okay, story:  We live in a deer infested state.  If you can drive 20 miles without seeing them dead from traffic, you must clearly be driving with your eyes closed.  So on the days when she drives either to work or to her daughter’s, I ask that she call when she’s arrived safely.  I mean, they just jump in front of you.  It’s disturbing.  But whatever.  Anyway, she did not call, so I called her.  As she answers the phone, I hear her say to her daughter, “Turn off those lights; you’re wasting electricity.”  I say into the phone, “What did you say?”  “I told her to turn off those lights; she’s the one responsible for the electric bill.”

Okay, let’s stop and review for a moment.  Her daughter’s money, for her daughter’s electric bill is a concern to her.  Okay, fine.  I get that.  What I object to is how constantly I ask her to turn off things when she’s left the room or is finished with them…not just the lights…the television, the fan, the stove, the oven, and the list goes on.  Please unplug that.  Please turn that off, hon.  Please, please, please, please, please, please, please.  And when we shared a house with her daughters, I consistently asked that they turn off the dining room, kitchen, living room, and hallway lights EVERY SINGLE GODDAMNED NIGHT.  I used to get up in the middle of the night and turn these lights off, every single night.

So, she’s shitting me, right?  Putting me on?  That her daughter leaving on her lights is a BIG DEAL?  But the electric bill I PAY FOR, THE ONE I GET UP AT 3:30 AM EVERY DAY OF MY LIFE TO PAY FOR, is…what…unimportant?  Seriously??

So yeah, the day started with this wound.  I’m truly aghast at her audacity to say this where I could hear it.  Do it behind my back, for Pete’s sake.

Why is her daughter’s money more important THAN MY MONEY!!!?????  And when I said to her on the phone, “Did you really just say that to her?”, she says “But she works hard.”  At that point, I told her I loved her and hung up.  Arguing is not a good thing.

Is peeing in her soda a bad thing?  I think I need perspective.

Leave a Reply

